Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Linux questions

Default Linux questions

I've convinced myself that Windows sucks and I want to get a free Linux OS. So I have a few questions.

1. I've been raised on Windows my whole life, does Linux run like a Windows OS?

2. I heard there was a Linux that runs almost exactly like a Windows OS, where can I get it?

3. A friend told me that if you want to use Linux properly you need to read a huge maunal, is he right?

Old school, like an old fool. Flying Mullet's Avatar
    Articles
    Blog Entries
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Cid's Knight
    • Former Senior Site Staff

I'm no expert but I found the "Linux for Dummies" book very helpful for getting my feet wet with Linux. Also the book typically comes with a version of Linux (RedHat in my book) for you to install on your computer and learn with.
    Figaro Castle

It depends on the extent to which you wish to use it. If you plan on playing video games on your computer stick to Windows, (The only reason I still use Windows at home) Hardly any games port to Unix/Linux because most Linux/Unix users typically stay away from proprietary software. If you just want to use your computer for writing papers, going on the internet, listening to music, watching video clips you don't need a large manual. If you want to go deeper than that you might consider taking a class at your local community college, (or normal college if you are currently enrolled in one) I've taken all the UNIX classes at my school and loved them, they're fun and useful.

Hmm, I did some googling and I found something called "Lindows" it runs like a Windows OS only not as sucky. Should I try it?

No.

If I were you I would run Mandrake or Slackware, those are my favorites at least.

Unless you want to go all out and run FreeBSD

Can somebody raised on Windows use those? Because I'm an idiot when it comes to other OSs.